top of page

Looking Back at My First Year as Field Drum Major

 

As the end of the school year approaches, it means it is almost time for the annual band banquet. Tears are shed. Dreams come true. One year ago, in June, I was named Assistant Field Drum Major of the Valencia Tiger Regiment. After so much doubt from myself and my peers, I was able to secure the position. Now in the time approaching the time when I will step up as Head Drum Major, I want to reminisce about my first year.

My first year as a drum major was far from perfect. I was in the back, in charge of the metronome. There was hardly anyone ever there, and I was always the first to get yelled at when there were problems with the tempo. However, the struggles I faced were surmounted by the pride I felt in my band. Seeing my band succeed, and supporting them when we didn't, were some of the most rewarding moments in my life. Performing our special salute for our band was exhilarating as they cheered us on. Having the support of my two superiors in my transition to this job was amazing. I cannot thank them enough for welcoming me in as the only newbie. Those hilarious times on the band bus didn't stop with this new position because I was and am still a part of them. It didn't matter what the outcome at championships was because I was 100% proud of what we were able to do.

I cannot wait to see what is in store for the Tiger Regiment. I cannot wait to welcome my new trainees to give them the same experience as I had and have new people to share this journey with.

-Phil

 

bottom of page