top of page

TEDxValenciaHighSchool 2018


On March 29, 2018, I got the opportunity to give a talk at my school's TEDx event. The theme for this year was "Empower." My talk was entitled, "The Intangible Key to Success." In my talk, I promoted the importance of having self-confidence and how it can open the doors to so many opportunities. I provide two stories where I contrast my attitudes during freshman year to now. It was a story of my transition from being voiceless to the drum major of the Valencia Tiger Regiment.

The experience exceeded my expectations. I never thought that I would be able to do such a thing because I was always afraid of public speaking. I love talking, but something about public speaking always got to me. However, during my rehearsals in the days leading to the talk, I somehow managed to perform without much fear and shakiness in my voice. Maybe it was because it was something personal. Maybe because I was empowered. To me, empowerment means giving a voice to the voiceless, and I remembered what it was like to not have a voice. I couldn't believe how much I was able to accomplish because I used to be so scared. I even had the strength to conduct up on the stage! (But they did play the wrong clips... but I pulled it together!...Hopefully...)

I was able to meet some new friends, whom I probably would have never met without TEDx. I got to share this experience and learn their stories in the process. TEDx really brings people together and I am so thankful that I got the opportunity to do this. I would definitely do it again, if I had the opportunity.

 

"Find the key to who you want to be."

-Phil :)

 

bottom of page